What the sorority sisters say…

Earlier this week I posted a poll to a closed Facebook page exclusively for members of my sorority. My post asked if just 10 girls would click on the link and respond to the short 5 question forum, simply so I could form a better idea of the overall opinions on some of the recent stories surrounding the Trump family.

43 girls responded to the poll by the time I stopped accepting responses a few hours later.

I was surprised that on a Thursday, mid-day, before Mardi Gras weekend, it was so important to college aged girls to fill out a political survey.

I was even more surprised, however, when I viewed the responses.

When we think of sorority girls we think of a large group of girls who are alike in pretty much every aspect.  We all wear the same comfort color t-shirts and Lululemon leggings. We all hang out in the same groups. It’s almost like when you’re in a sorority people assume you all talk the same and walk the same.

So yes, I can’t even lie, I am in a sorority and I assumed that we would all be pretty like minded when I viewed the responses to this poll. I assumed girls would log on and see the results and select the response that their sister had selected, maybe because when you’re around 300+ females a majority of the week, it is easy to conform to what the rest of the group is doing or believes.

But the responses displayed the opposite. For example, the first question in the poll, “Do you trust the Trump Family?” was pretty evenly split as almost 40% said yes, 37% said no, and the other 23% were unsure.

Screen Shot 2017-02-24 at 7.31.49 PM.png

However, of the 43 girls who participated, slightly more leaned toward the conservative side, as this particular question’s results demonstrate:

Screen Shot 2017-02-24 at 7.32.40 PM.png

I guess I shouldn’t be too surprised that the results showed a political divide in my sorority. During the months leading up to the election, girls who considered each other close friends would go back and forth over group messages, Facebook discussion groups, and on one another’s public Facebook posts over their political views.

If there’s anything that I concluded from putting out this poll, it’s that when it comes to political views, I think anyone, even 18-22 year old sorority girls, are willing to express their political opinions to some extent, and some more so than others.

The political views of others may also be surprising to you. Just because you’re around someone and identify with them similarly on a lot of aspects, doesn’t necessarily mean you will see eye to eye with them, especially on who is better suited to be the First Lady or whether or not Nordstrom’s made the right choose by dropping Ivanka Trump’s brand.

Here are the results from the other three poll questions:

Screen Shot 2017-02-24 at 8.30.00 PM.pngScreen Shot 2017-02-24 at 8.30.21 PM.pngScreen Shot 2017-02-24 at 8.30.13 PM.png

(Featured image: http://pixel.nymag.com/imgs/daily/vulture/2016/09/27/recaps/27-new-girl.w1200.h630.jpg)

Leave a comment